Overheating problems.

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

tony-ducks

Overheating problems.

Post by tony-ducks »

Hello,

I am very new to this and would appreciate advice on my current situation. I have a 72 f-100, and use it daily because it is all i can afford. That being said I cannot really afford to bring it in to a mechanic to get it diagnosed.

I run my truck in Ohio. My problem is that my truck does no longer put out heat into the cabin. The temp gauge does not move from its initial low position until about 5 minutes into driving where it will rapidly rise to the middle, and it gets hotter and hotter. I only drive it about 4 miles a day so it doesn't overheat. But it did blow out coolant one time from overheating, from where I do not know. I also no longer get any heat into my truck.

Any suggestions?
fordman
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Overheating problems.

Post by fordman »

i would replace the thermostat. get the same temp stat that you have now. the degrees is marked on the bottom of your old one. and refill with anitfreeze. once it blew out the old antifreeze there probably wasnt enough left init to get the truck warm again. unless you refilled it.
Dragon
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by Dragon »

Center of gauge is about 180.

5 minutes in winter is a great warm up time. Over heating in Winter is not right... unless you don't have enough antifreeze in the engine and the block froze. Remove the Thermostat housing and see if the thermostat works by putting it in a pan of water then heating the pan to boiling to see if it opens. When you start it should be closed. Since you lost some water and got to see your coolant you can now tell if you have enough coolant. A 50% mix is green not faint green more like a new bottle of antifreeze green.

What engine do you have?
Old Fords Rule
Was a Ford Service Tech