Carb issues.

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

Darrman
Preferred User
Preferred User

Carb issues.

Post by Darrman »

I bought this Autolite 2100 carb off of ebay and broke it down and cleaned it up, rebuilt it with a kit, etc. Now that I can start the engine I am seeing some problems. I am still kinda new to carbs, so I am not sure what does what yet.
First problem is a leak out of the side of the carb from around where the main butterfly shaft passes through the body of the carb, this may do the carb in, because I cannot think of a fix.
Second, the carb appears to be sticking open, dumping way too much fuel. When the motor starts, it will start by sputtering to life, then speeding up gradually to a high rpm, till I shut it off. I dont have the tach hooked up yet. Last night I couldnt get it to catch, but had flaming gas coming out the header, not good!
Can anybody give me some tips to fix these problems, Thanks!
olgreen69

Re: Carb issues.

Post by olgreen69 »

Well I talked to the "old guy" in my shop about your problem. He says the butterfly rod, and or bushing/ seal is just worn out. And if the rod and bushing are worn out that could cause the butterfly to stick open. Is there any free play in the rod.
willowbilly3
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by willowbilly3 »

The shaft bushings may be worn but you have another issue here. It is sounds like it is dumping fuel. Maybe you got the float level too high or something amiss in the needle valve. It is fairly easy to pull the top of the carb without removing it from the engine.
Great ideas have always encounter violent opposition from mediocre minds.
Darrman
Preferred User
Preferred User

Post by Darrman »